2/12. Lauren – School Librarian

Our own Lauren Thow on 23 (more) Librarians!!!

23 Librarians - and counting!

Lauren Thow is Library Resource Centre Co-ordinator at Portobello High School in Edinburgh.

I have always been a regular Library user, whether that be a Public, School or University Library, but I had never considered working in one.  After studying History then Law at University, I worked in a variety of advice and customer services roles.  Like many humanities students I felt indecisive about my career plans post-University, but increasingly felt that I would be more fulfilled working in education or the arts.  I took up volunteer work with Seven Stories, the Centre for Children’s Books in Newcastle, which instantly re-ignited my passion for literature and showed me how rewarding working with young people could be.  I was lucky enough to then gain employment as a Senior Library Assistant at Whitley Bay High School in Newcastle.  Having had no prior Librarian training, this role involved a steep learning curve…

View original post 884 more words

Leave a Reply

